Office of the Urban County Council

The Urban County Council is the legislative branch of the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government. The council has the power to establish budgets, set policy and levy taxes, subject to limits set by the Charter and state laws.

The Urban County Council consists of 12 district councilmembers and three At-Large councilmembers. District councilmembers are elected for two-year terms and may serve up to six consecutive terms. At-Large councilmembers are elected for four-year terms and may serve up to three consecutive terms.

The At-large member who receives the most votes in the general election becomes the vice mayor. In the absence of the mayor, the vice mayor is the presiding officer.

Email all councilmembers

2023 Council calendar

Council office staff

Stacey Maynard
Council Administrator
(859) 280-8267

Kendra Thompson
Research Analyst
(859) 280-8268

Jennifer Sutton
Research Analyst
(859) 280-8269

Kelley Farley
Budget Analyst
(859) 280-8270

Council districts


Mayor requests additional tax relief for local businesses

The resolution gives businesses the ability to deduct expenses paid with Paycheck Protection Program funds in 2020.

Lisa Higgins-Hord to join work on Racial Justice commission

She will oversee a City Hall team that has been working to implement the Task Force recommendations and other equity issues.