Office of the Urban County Council

The Urban County Council is the legislative branch of the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government. The council has the power to establish budgets, set policy and levy taxes, subject to limits set by the Charter and state laws.

The Urban County Council consists of 12 district council members and three At-Large council members. District councilmembers are elected for two-year terms and may serve up to six consecutive terms. At-Large councilmembers are elected for four-year terms and may serve up to three consecutive terms.

The At-large member who receives the most votes in the general election becomes the vice mayor. In the mayor's absence, the vice mayor is the presiding officer.

Email all councilmembers

2024 Council calendar

Neighborhood Development Funds

Council office staff

Shauntae Hall
Council Administrator
(859) 280-8267

Kendra Thompson
Research Analyst
(859) 280-8268

Jennifer Sutton
Research Analyst
(859) 280-8269

Kelley Farley
Budget Analyst
(859) 280-8270

Jillian Riseman
Public Information Officer
(859) 280-8278

Council districts


Commerce Lex. to manage City’s small business stimulus grants

Following the success of last year’s local economic stimulus grants for small business, Lexington has approved a second round of funding.

Mayor breaks ground on new playground

The park is located behind the Charles Young Center at 540 East Third St.

City celebrates the life of Councilmember Gibbs

A plaque was dedicated in honor of the late Councilmember Jake Gibbs.