Office of the Urban County Council

The Urban County Council is the legislative branch of the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government. The council has the power to establish budgets, set policies, and levy taxes, subject to limits set by the Charter and state laws.

The Urban County Council consists of 12 district council members and three At-Large council members. District councilmembers are elected for two-year terms and may serve up to six consecutive terms. At-Large councilmembers are elected for four-year terms and may serve up to three consecutive terms.

The At-large member who receives the most votes in the general election becomes the vice mayor. In the mayor's absence, the vice mayor is the presiding officer.

Email all councilmembers


Engage Lexington is a new way to get involved in your local government and its processes. With Engage Lexington, people who live or work in Lexington can learn about and give feedback on the issues that matter most to them. Check out this new engagement tool and register to subscribe and participate in our ongoing projects!

Engage Lexington

Council office staff

Shauntae Hall
Council Administrator
(859) 280-8267
Kendra Thompson
Research Analyst
(859) 280-8268
Jennifer Sutton
Research Analyst
(859) 280-8269
Kelley Farley
Budget Analyst
(859) 280-8270
Jillian Riseman
Public Information Officer
(859) 280-8278


Council districts


July 2024 Council Comment Newsletter

The end of Budget Season, celebrating 4th of July and Summer Break announcements from your Lexington City Council! Read it all in the July 2024 Council Comment Newsletter.

Lexington named an “All-America City” by the National Civic League

Lexington was recently presented an All-America City Award by the National Civic League.

Council to Consider Override to Mayor’s Veto

The Council will discuss the proposal on June 27, 2024, at the 6 p.m. Council meeting.