The Lexington Police Department: A History of Community Service

Welcome to the Lexington Police Department! The Lexington Police Department, established in 1832, has protected and served the Lexington Community for generations. Many things about our community have changed since our inception, however, our commitment to our citizens, their well being, and the integrity of our city remains the same.  


About Our City

Lexington is a growing community in the heart of the bluegrass where citizens of diverse and vibrant backgrounds start businesses, raise families, and pursue their dreams. The city is home to the University of Kentucky, Keeneland Racetrack, and is known for its big city appeal with small town charm. From rolling hills and horse farms to an exciting downtown entertainment district and a lively creative arts scene, Lexington has something to offer everyone. 

Learn more about Lexington at VisitLex and Commerce Lexington

About The Lexington Police Department

With an authorized strength of 639 sworn officers and nearly 150 civilian personnel, the Lexington Police Department is the largest division within the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government. The department's mission is to serve and protect all residents and visitors in the city with a high level of integrity, transparency and dedication to community policing. We are led by Chief Lawrence Weathers.

Our police department has jurisdiction over all of Fayette County from urban areas, to suburban neighborhoods, and rural countryside. Officers earn competitive pay, enjoy attractive benefits, and have many opportunities for growth through a variety of assignments within the department. Career paths include specialized units such as K9, Collision Reconstruction, Criminal Investigations, Emergency Response Team, Forensic Services, and Traffic Enforcement and more.

Join Our Department!

Contact our Recruiter, Officer Brandon Kennedy, about your future in policing today!


Call: (859) 425-2325

Visit our Frequently Asked Questions Page