Office of the Urban County Council

The Urban County Council is the legislative branch of the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government.The council has the power to establish budgets, set policy and levy taxes, subject to limits set by the Charter and state laws.

The Urban County Council consists of 12 District Council Members and three At-Large Council Members. District Council Members are elected for two-year terms and may serve up to six consecutive terms. At-Large Council Members are elected for four-year terms and may serve up to three consecutive terms.

The At-large member who receives the most votes in the general election becomes the Vice Mayor. In the absence of the Mayor, the Vice Mayor is the presiding officer.

Email all Councilmembers

Council office staff

Stacey Maynard
Council Administrator
(859) 280-8267

Kendra Thompson
Research Analyst
(859) 280-8268

Hilary Angelucci
Research Analyst
(859) 280-8269

Kevin Johnson
Budget Analyst
(859) 280-8270

Council districts


Site announced for ‘Breaking the Bronze Ceiling’ monument

The “Breaking the Bronze Ceiling” monument that will recognize the contributions of women throughout Lexington history will have a prominent address downtown.

Mayor’s tight budget proposal includes grants to help most needy

Grants to 35 social service agencies are part of Mayor Linda Gorton’s budget proposal now under consideration by the Urban County Council.

Lexington adds a new park!

Today, Lexington Parks & Recreation named the new addition, Buckhorn Park, with Mayor Jim Gray and Councilmember Preston Worley cutting a ribbon to celebrate.



Tuesday, Oct. 22, 2019

  1. Environmental Quality & Public Works Committee

    1 p.m.

  2. Council Work Session

    3 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 24, 2019

  1. Special Committee of the Whole

    4 – 6 p.m.

Tuesday, Oct. 29, 2019

  1. Budget, Finance & Economic Development Committee

    1 p.m.

  2. Council Work Session

    3 p.m.