Council At-Large and Vice Mayor, Steve Kay

Councilmember and Vice Mayor Steve Kay, At-Large

Steve is in his second term as an At-Large Council Member and his first term as Vice Mayor, a position to which he was elected in 2014.  While serving on Council, Steve continues his work as a partner of Roberts & Kay, a research and organization development firm Steve co-founded in 1983. 

Steve served as Chair of the Mayor’s Commission on Homelessness, whose recommendations informed the subsequent creation of the Office of Homelessness Prevention and Intervention and the complementary Office of Affordable Housing and the Affordable Housing Fund.  Steve also spearheaded the formation of Bluegrass Farm to Table, a local food initiative that encourages community health and economic development.  

Steve’s opportunities to contribute to civic life in Lexington have included service on the boards of the Lexington Transit Authority (LexTran) and the Martin Luther King Neighborhood Association. He is a former Vice Chair of the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government Planning Commission and a former president of the board of Good Foods Co-op.

Steve earned a B.A. from Bowdoin College, an M.A. from Yale University, and an Ed.D from the University of Kentucky. He is married to Rona Roberts and has three grown sons, three wonderful daughters-in-law, and five charming grandchildren.

Serves on...

Budget, Finance & Economic Development Committee

General Government & Social Services

Planning & Public Safety Committee

Infill & Redevelopment Steering Committee—Chair

Affordable Housing Board

Bluegrass Farm to Table Advisory Board

Corridors Commission

Downtown Lexington Management District Board

Lexington Area Metropolitan Planning Organization

President’s Sustainability Advisory Committee (University of Kentucky)