Environmental Commission

The Commission seeks to maintain and enhance the distinctive, picturesque environment of Lexington and Fayette County. They initiate and participate in environmental education, awareness and stewardship programs, including presenting annual awards to individuals, organizations or companies for outstanding environmental stewardship. They advise and work with the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Council, the Planning Commission, the Board of Adjustment, the Building Inspector and all other appropriate bodies and officials.

Their mission is to protect and improve our environment by advising officials, promoting sustainability using research-based evidence, facilitating environmental awareness and representing Fayette County residents with environmental concerns in their communities.



Learn more at our website

Meeting schedule and location

Schedule: Every first Monday of the month
Time: 4 p.m.
Location: 1st floor conference room of the Phoenix Building, 101 E. Vine St. 

2024 meetings

Jan. 2*
Feb. 5
March 4
April 1
May 6
June 3
July 1
Aug. 5
Sept. 9*
Oct. 7
Nov. 4
Dec. 2

*official schedule adjusted for these dates

Meeting materials

Elected officers

Chair - Grace Leppert Downey

Vice Chair - not elected

Secretary - Sarah Asalon

Treasurer - Scott Southall

Directors - Ray Hill, Jason Sloan, not elected