Statement for Peace

On Dec. 12, 2023, Mayor Linda Gorton today released a joint statement she, Lexington Police Chief Lawrence Weathers, and a group of Lexington Jewish and Muslim/Palestinian leaders have been working on since October.

The statement is an appeal for peace in Gaza and Israel, and a united stance to “keep Lexington peaceful, and all of its residents safe” at a time when there have been extremist attacks on Jewish, Muslim and Arab communities around the country. “Lexington is saying ‘not here’,” Gorton said.

Ten members of the Urban County Council have signed on to the statement. Business, faith, education, and civic leaders have also voiced their support.

Lexington residents are invited to sign on to the statement. Please send your name and address to Residents are welcome to include the organization they represent. 

The statement follows:

As the world witnesses fighting in Gaza and Israel, Lexington prays for peace.

When the violence spills over into our country, with extremist attacks on Jewish, Muslim and Arab communities, Lexington says not here.

Even at this time of turmoil and division, we must remember what unites us as creatures created in the Divine image. Loving one's neighbor as oneself makes no exception for neighbors whose ways we approve of and those whom we do not. We do not have to agree about the solution to this crisis to treat one another with respect, acknowledge each other's grief, affirm each other's humanity, and pray for a future where cruelty and violence are replaced with compassion and peace.

We are leaders of Lexington's faith community, businesses, government, public safety agencies, community groups, and civic organizations. We represent different religions, different backgrounds, and different ways of life.

Proud of — and strengthened by — our diversity, we stand united in our determination to keep Lexington peaceful, and all of its residents safe.

Mayor Linda Gorton
Rabbi Shani Abramowitz, Ohavay Zion Synagogue
Imam Shaheed Coovadia, Masjid Bilal
Nick Fain, Temple Adath Israel
Dr. Jamil Farooqui, President Masjid Bilal lbn Rabah
V. Rev. Fr. Thomas Gallaway, Pastor of St. Andrew Antiochian Orthodox Church
Mindy Haas, Jewish Federation of the Bluegrass
Rich Ornstein, Temple Adath Israel
Charlie Oudeh, Ramallah Club
Dr. Nadia Rasheed, MD
Justin Sadle, Jewish Community Relations Council
Tyler Scott, Mayor's Office Chief of Staff
Isabel Taylor, Lexington Multicultural Affairs Coordinator
Lawrence Weathers, Lexington Police Chief
Rabbi David Wirtschafter, Temple Adath Israel

Councilmember-at-Large Chuck Ellinger
Councilmember Tayna Fogle, 1st District
Councilmember Hannah LeGris, 3rd District
Councilmember Brenda Monarrez, 4th District
Councilmember Liz Sheehan, 5th District
Councilmember Preston Worley, 7th District
Councilmember Fred Brown, 8th District
Councilmember Whitney Baxter, 9th District
Councilmember Dave Sevigny, 10th District
Councilmember Kathy Plomin, 12th District

The Ven. Laurie Brock, St. Michael's Episcopal Church
Rev. Brandon L. Gilvin, Senior Minister, Central Christian Church
Superintendent Demetrus Liggins, Fayette County Public Schools
P.G. Peeples Sr., President/CEO, Urban League of Lexington-Fayette County
Robert L. Quick, IOM, CCE, President & CEO, Commerce Lexington
Bishop John Stowe, OFM Conv., Catholic Diocese of Lexington

Jacob Carr, Yalla Y'all
Julia M. Huber, M.D.
Rev. Christy Jo Harber, Woodland Christian Church
Joey Truax, RadioLex
Lisa Satin
Steven E. Rice, Environmental Inspector
Tammy Natof
Jared Bryan
Austin Simms, Lexington-Fayette Housing Authority

View PDF of statement.

If you would like to add your name to the statement, you can sign on by emailing