Parks & Recreation volunteers

Parks & Recreation offers a comprehensive volunteer program that gives residents an opportunity to leave a lasting impact on Parks & Recreation facilities, green spaces and programs. Volunteer activities can be short-term, such as a morning planting trees or long-term, such as being a therapeutic recreation buddy for outings or classes.

What do you like to do?

Interested in sharing your time and talents with Parks? Not only will you and/or your group get to spend some quality time outdoors, but you will also help make one of Lexington’s greatest resources – its parks – ready for the many visitors who enjoy our parks and facilities year-round. 

Current opportunities include:

  • Park Maintenance – Help to paint fences, pick up debris, or organize a Park Clean-up throughout the year at your favorite park. Contact Patrick Sinclair at psinsclair@lexingtonky.gov.
  • Natural Areas – Clean up your favorite hiking trail or remove honeysuckle and other invasive plant species from natural areas and parks with a group or on an individual basis. Contact Jennifer Sanchez at jsanchez@lexingtonky.gov.  
  • Special Events – Assist with special events such as Kite Fest, Bluegrass 10,000, the Halloween Festival & Parade or Friday Flicks. Contact Jessica Piersol at jpiersol@lexingtonky.gov.
  • Community Center – Assist with programs and events such as arts anf crafts, sports and games, health education, and holiday parties. Contact Jackie French at jackief@lexingtonky.gov
  • Therapeutic Recreation – Serve as a Therapeutic Recreation “buddy" and help youth and adults with disabilities participate in different programs. Contact Jill Farmer at jfarmer@lexingtonky.gov
  • Archival Work – Work with a team of individuals charged with organizing and cataloging decades worth of Parks memorabilia. Contact Michelle Kosieniak at michelleo@lexingtonky.gov
  • Create Your Own – Create your own individual or group volunteer activity.


Contact Anthony Jackson at ajackson@lexingtonky.gov for further information.

Golf Volunteer Program

We also offer volunteer opportunities at each of our five golf courses! Every three hours worked will earn you a free 9-holes of golf on the course you volunteered for. 

Current opportunities include:

  • Golf shop attendant (golf cart fleet, starter, ranger, golf shop)
  • Golf maintenance


If you're interested in volunteering with Play Golf Lex (our golf department), Justin Mullinax at jmullinax@lexingtonky.gov. You may also drop the forms off at any golf course.

Contact