Human Rights Commission


Charter information

Pursuant to KRS 344.310


The Lexington-Fayette County Human Rights Commission was created by an inter-local agreement by the City of Lexington and the Fiscal Court of Fayette County in January of 1967. The predecessor of the joint Commission, the Lexington Commission on Human Rights was created in June of 1963. The charter created by the merger of the city of Lexington and Fayette County into a united urban county government reconstituted the Commission. The present Lexington-Fayette Urban County Human Rights Commission was created in 1974.

The mission of the Commission is to safeguard the legal rights of individuals regarding discrimination and to promote mutual understanding and respect among the people of Lexington-Fayette County, Kentucky.

Learn more at our website

Meeting schedule and location

Schedule: Every third Monday of the month
Time: 5:30 p.m.
Location: Varies and virtually, as indicated

2024 meetings

Jan. 22 - Virtual meeting *
Feb. 26 *
March 18 - Virtual meeting
April 15
May 20 - Virtual meeting
June 17
July 15 - Virtual meeting
Aug. 19
Sept. 16 - Virtual meeting
Oct. 21
Nov. 18 - Virtual meeting
Dec. 16

*regular schedule adjusted

Meeting materials and virtual meeting credentials can be obtained by contacting Executive Director, Ray Sexton.

Elected officers

Chair – Barbara Ellerbrook

Vice Chair – Janice Wyatt-Ross

Treasurer – not elected

Secretary – Jim Dickinson