Visit our new pilot site at
Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Social Services

Mailing Address 200 E. Main St., Rm. 328
Lexington, KY 40507
Phone 859-258-3804
Fax Fax: 859-258-3406

Commissioner: Chris Ford

The mission of the Department of Social Services is to provide and support an easily accessible system of human services for Fayette County. The Department is proud to be accredited by the Council of Accreditation, a national social services accrediting body.  DSS strives to promote its collaborative efforts with an existing network of local non-profit organizations and human services agencies.

Local and state governmental partners include the Fayette County Public Schools, the Kentucky Department for Juvenile Justice, the Kentucky Department for Community Based Services, the Kentucky Administrative Office of the Courts, the Bluegrass Area Agency on Aging, the Lexington Department of Public Safety, the Lexington Office of Homelessness Prevention & Intervention, the Lexington Division of Grants & Special Programs, and the Lexington – Fayette County Health Department.  

The Department of Social Services is comprised of four operational divisions:

The Commissioner's Office administers four community-based programs:

The Department has program personnel located in various areas across the city: 

Service Sites Program Contacts
Downtown Campus Commissioner’s Office and Youth Services
Red Mile Campus Family Services and Youth Services
Central Kentucky Job Center Adult & Tenant Services
Lexington Seniors Center Aging & Disability Services
Global Engagement Center Multicultural Affairs
Neighborhood Centers Carver; Charles Young; Gainesway; Black & Williams


Last updated: 2/4/2016 7:52:36 AM