Visit our new pilot site at
Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

 What is the Lexington-Fayette County Planning Commission?

The Planning Commission is a body established under state law to perform a number of decision making and recommending activities related to community planning and land use. Commission members are local citizens - appointed by the Mayor subject to approval by the Urban County Council - and are not professional planners.

The 11 Planning Commission members serve without compensation of any kind. They typically give four to eight hours per week of their time to attend public hearings, work sessions, and committee meetings.

Planning Commissioners come from varied backgrounds and different neighborhoods in the community. Members serve staggered terms of four years in length, and may only serve three consecutive terms (twelve years) without leaving the commission for at least one year.

The primary duties of the Planning Commission are:

  • Adopt the Comprehensive Plan for the community, reviewing and updating the plan every five years
  • Adopt special amendments to the Comprehensive Plan. Examples include Small Area Plans for specific areas
  • Hold hearings and recommend Comprehensive Plan Goals & Objectives for action by the Urban County Council
  • Hold hearings and make recommendations to the Urban County Council on zone change requests proposed by private property owners
  • Review and take final actions on subdivision plans and development plans
  • Hold hearings and make recommendations to the Urban County Council on changes to zoning and subdivision laws
  • Hear appeals by the Board of Architectural Review in historic zoning districts
  • Hear applications for wireless communication towers
  • Hear appeals of actions by the Courthouse Area Design Review Board in the Courthouse Area overlay zone (downtown)

If you wish to contact a member of the Planning Commission, please call the Division of Planning at 258-3160, or send mail to:

LFUCG Division of Planning
200 East Main Street
Lexington, KY 40507

Planning Commission meetings and zoning public hearings are televised live on GTV3. Please click here to view the City Calendar for dates and times of upcoming meetings.


Commission Member Last Appointed Date Length of Term Expiration Date

L. Michael Owens, Chair

6/21/2012 4 years 7/01/2016

K. Mike Cravens, Vice-Chair

6/19/2014 4 years 7/01/2018

Patrick Brewer

7/05/2012 4 years 7/01/2016

William H. Wilson, Parliamentarian        

7/02/2013 4 years 7/01/2017

Frank Penn    

7/07/2015 4 years 7/01/2019
Will Berkley 7/02/2015 4 years 7/01/2019
Karen Mundy 6/21/2012 4 years 7/01/2016
Carolyn Plumlee 7/02/2013 4 years 7/01/2017
David Drake                     7/02/2013 4 years 7/01/2017
Joseph Smith     6/19/2014 4 years 7/01/2018
Carolyn Richardson                     6/19/2014 4 years 7/01/2018

2015 Planning Commission Officers


Mike Owens


Mike Cravens
Secretary         Will Berkley
Parliamentarian William Wilson

Committee Member Information

Subdivision Committee

  • Will Berkley
  • Karen Mundy
  • Mike Owens
  • Frank Penn
  • Carolyn Plumlee
  • Joseph Smith 
  • Hillard Newman, Division of Engineering
  • Casey Kaucher, Division of Traffic Engineering

Zoning Committee

  • Patrick Brewer
  • Mike Cravens
  • David Drake
  • Carolyn Richardson 
  • William H. Wilson
Last updated: 8/11/2015 4:49:44 PM