Redistricting Lexington

Redistricting is the redrawing of congressional and legislative district lines following the census to adjust to how communities grow and change. Every 10 years, local governments use new data from the Census to redraw their district lines to reflect how local populations have changed. The final district map created through this process will determine the council district boundaries for the next 10 years.

Redistricting data hub

Meeting packets

The Redistricting has made its final recommendations.

You can find the final map here. The map will now go to the City Council for a presentation and review. That date is forthcoming.

Committee members

After Census results are released each decade, the Vice Mayor’s Office begins the local redistricting process by asking each council member to pick a resident from their district to serve the community and assist with the redistricting process.

 This group of residents will work with Lexington’s mapping department, Division of Planning, as well as the County Clerk’s office to draw new district boundaries.

The following residents were appointed by their councilmembers for the 2021 Redistricting Process:

Chair – William H. Wilson (appointed by VM Steve Kay)
Retired Deputy Executive Director of the Kentucky Educational Television Network

At-Large – Don Todd (appointed by CM Chuck Ellinger)
Personal injury attorney and former councilmember

At Large – Andrea Schoninger (appointed by CM Richard Moloney)

District 1 – Andria Jackson (appointed by CM James Brown)
Community Engagement Coordinator at the Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence

District 2 – Rock Daniels (appointed by CM Josh McCurn)
Realtor and property developer

District 3 – Matthew Wilson (appointed by CM Hannah LeGris)
Associate Professor of Geography at the University of Kentucky and Visiting Scholar at the Center for Geographic Analysis at Harvard University

District 4 – Brenda Monarrez (appointed by CM Susan Lamb)
Emerge Kentucky 2012 Alumna

District 5 – Anne Donworth (appointed by CM Liz Sheehan)
Director of Development, Marketing and Communications – Lexington Public Library

District 6 – Nathan Mick (appointed by CM David Kloiber)
Director of Federal and State Advocacy for the American Association of Orthodontists

District 7 – Marcus Patrick (appointed by CM Preston Worley)
Director of Urban Impact, Lexington Leadership Foundation

District 8 – Carol Kargel (appointed by CM Fred Brown)
Secretary & Treasurer, Southeastern Hills Neighborhood Association

District 9 – Kim Justus (appointed by CM Whitney Eliot Baxter)
Office Manager, Blue & Co.

District 10 –  Barbara Ellerbrook (appointed by CM Amanda Bledsoe)

District 11 – Christine Smith (appointed by CM Jennifer Reynolds)
Executive Director, Seedleaf

District 12 – Joe Nallia (appointed by CM Kathy Plomin)
Farm Manager, Walnut Hall Stock Farm

What is redistricting?

Redistricting in Lexington is the redrawing of council district lines. This takes place after the census is completed every 10 years. It helps the city council to adjust how their communities have grown and changed.

Why should I care about redistricting?

Council district maps determine who you can elect for your district. The maps drawn in 2021 set the stage for the next decade. Districts must be made with roughly the same number of people so that communities have equal access to political representation.

How can I find my district?

Lexington Map It! allows citizens to quickly access geographic data within Lexington and Fayette County. This means you can type in your address, street or intersection and find a wealth of geographic data relating to that location, including your council district.

How can I become involved?

There are various ways to become involved in the redistricting process in Lexington. Each meeting is a public meeting and open to the public for participation, however there will not be an opportunity for public comment at these meetings. We will have details forthcoming on how and when to share your opinion on the proposed redistricting map. 

What is the timeline for completing the redistricting process?

The committee recommendations will be submitted for council approval at the end of October or the beginning of November. This is to accommodate any individuals planning to file to become candidates in the 2022 election. The earliest date a person can file is Nov. 3, 2021, and closes on Jan. 7, 2022. According to the Census Bureau’s website, census data will be sent out to the public on Aug. 12, 2021, with the final “redistricting data toolkit” being sent out by Sept. 30, 2021. However, according to the charter, the council has until April 1, 2022, to redistrict, if the census figures justify redistricting.

What happens if the Commission does not adopt a final map?

According to the Charter, if the council fails to enact a redistricting ordinance by April 1, 2022, the Fayette Circuit Court would obtain jurisdiction to prescribe a redistricting plan. Should the Urban County Government pursue this alternative, redistricting becomes effective for the first regular primary election for council seats that occurs more than 180 days after redistricting is completed.

What guidelines must be followed by Lexington’s Redistricting Commission when deciding the districts?

Section 2-3.2 of the Code of Ordinances provides the committee with guidelines by which they are to make recommendations to the council for the revision of district boundary lines. The 2021 redistricting guidelines include:

  1. The districts should have population equality, with a total deviation of no more than 10%.
  2. The existing precincts shall be the basic unit for aggregating the new council districts.
  3. The existing voting precincts shall not be split or precinct boundaries changed.
  4. Each district shall be composed of closely arranged precincts that are concentrated in a limited area.
  5. Each district shall be composed of adjoining precincts sharing common boundaries.
  6. The precinct population shall be based upon the 2020 Census redistricting data.
  7. The districts should reflect particular community interests or a range of characteristics including aggregating areas with similar physical, cultural, or socio-economic characteristics. (UCG 4.03)
  8. The districts should accommodate relative rates of future growth such that districts that are in growth areas will have a population in the lower range of the ideal population.  (UCG 4.03)
  9. New districts should be formed with as little change as possible to existing districts.
  10. Keeping the councilmember in their current district should be a priority.
  11. If possible, recognized neighborhood associations should not be split into different council districts.
  12. Arterial highways and other corridors that have been used as boundaries should be considered in defining district boundaries.
  13. The committee recommendations will be submitted for council approval prior to November 3, which is the earliest date individuals can file to become candidates in the 2022 election.