Visit our new pilot site at
Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

Urban County Council

The Urban County Council is the legislative branch of the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government, with the power to establish budgets, set policy and levy taxes, subject to limits set by the Charter and state laws. The Urban County Council consists of 12 District Council Members and three At-Large Council Members. District Council Members are elected for two-year terms and may serve up to six consecutive terms. At-Large Council Members are elected for four-year terms and may serve up to three consecutive terms. The At-large member who receives the most votes in the general election becomes the Vice Mayor. In the absence of the Mayor, the Vice Mayor is the presiding officer.

Council Districts

Click here to email all Council Members

Steve Kay (thumb)
Vice Mayor
Steve Kay

Kevin Stinnett
Kevin Stinnett

Moloney thumbnail
Richard Moloney

J Brown thumbnail
1st District James Brown

Akers_head shot_main page
2nd District Shevawn Akers

3rd District Jake Gibbs

Lamb 2
4th District Susan Lamb

Bill Farmer Jr
5th District Bill Farmer, Jr

Evans thumbnail
6th District Angela Evans

Jenni Scutchfield
7th District
Jennifer Scutchfield

Fred Brown_web_2016
8th District Fred Brown

Jennifer Mossotti
9th District
Jennifer Mossotti

Mays Bledsoe thumbnail
10th District 
Amanda Mays Bledsoe

Peggy Henson
11th District Peggy Henson

Russ Hensley
12th District
Russ Hensley



Work Session Packets
(Current and past) 

2016 Council Calendar

Council Meeting Dockets 

Council Meeting Minutes


All council work sessions/meetings will be held in the Council Chamber on the second floor of the Government Center and shall be open to the public. There is public comment time at both of these meetings.

Committee of the Whole Work Sessions are informal meetings held every Tuesday at 3:00 pm. The Council decides what actions will be taken at its formal meeting on Thursday nights. 

Council Meetings are formal meetings in which previously discussed ordinances and resolutions are legally enacted by the Council. These meetings are held twice a month on Thursday evenings at 6:00 pm.


Click for Council Standing Committees





Last updated: 4/21/2016 4:53:47 PM