

Executive Order No. 2012-01

An Executive Order Relating to the Establishment of the Mayor's Commission on Homelessness

Whereas, Lexington values all of its citizens and is a community committed to preventing and ending homelessness, and;

Whereas, the United States Interagency Council on Homelessness is encouraging communities to reassess their Ten Year Plans to End Homelessness and align local efforts with the first-ever "Federal Strategic Plan to Prevent and End Homelessness," and;

Whereas, a safe community where citizens have the opportunity to have their basic human needs met is essential for Building a Great American City.

Now, therefore, I, Jim Gray, Mayor of Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government, order and direct the following:

1. The Mayor's Commission on Homelessness ("Commission") is hereby created to provide more direct focus on and attention to a set of issues many in the community are already working to address and recommend a course of action for the implementation of any needed changes or improvements in Lexington's effort to prevent and end homelessness.

2. The Commission shall:

- a) Consider the Federal Strategic Plan to Prevent and End Homelessness developed in 2010 by the United States Interagency Council on Homelessness; and identify opportunities for Lexington to align its Plan with national efforts to end homelessness.
- b) Identify resources—including funding, programming and organizations—currently committed to addressing the issues associated with homelessness and near homelessness in Lexington.
- c) Examine prior local efforts—including Lexington's 2010 *Ten Year Plan to End Homelessness*, task force reports, needs assessments or similar efforts—and determine strengths and weaknesses of implementation efforts.
- d) Determine what Lexington is currently doing well to address homelessness and near homelessness.
- e) Determine where unmet needs and areas for improvement still exist in addressing homelessness and near homelessness.
- f) Propose new or confirm previously identified goals and specific strategies to meet unmet needs and areas identified for improvement.
- g) Identify best practices to address homelessness in benchmark cities or elsewhere.
- h) Propose specific action steps required to achieve each strategy and goal.
- i) Recommend community initiators, opportunities for collaboration among the local, state and federal governments, as well as public-private partnerships, and sources of funding, if needed, for proposed strategies.
- j) Suggest practical time frames for the implementation of proposed strategies.
- k) Prioritize areas of need and proposed strategies into short term, intermediate and long term areas requiring action.
- 3. The Commission shall be chaired by Steve Kay, at-large councilmember and co-chaired by Debra Hensley, business woman and Chair of the 1990 Mayor's Task Force on Homelessness. There shall be a five-member steering committee to direct the work of the commission and keep it on track. In addition to the Chair and Co-Chair, the steering committee shall be comprised of the following three people:

James P. "Ike" Adams, Dean, UK College of Social Work; Mark Davis, Pastor, First Presbyterian Church; and Melody Flowers, Assistant Director for Strategic Planning, UK Healthcare.

4. The Commission shall be comprised of the following additional members:

Lisa Adkins, President and CEO, Blue Grass Community Foundation; Laura Babbage, clergy member and community volunteer; Michelle Beverly, Student Support Services Director, Fayette County Public Schools; Rocky Burke, General Manager, Lextran; Claudia Blaylock, Chair, Central Kentucky Housing and Homeless Initiative; Linda Carroll, business owner and downtown resident; Alberto Carrillo, Pastor, Bethel Hispanic Church; Catherine DeFlorio, Legal Aid of the Bluegrass; Bill Embry, St. James Place; Kevin Fleming, Kentucky Department of Advocacy; Jessica Gies, Aide to Councilmember Bill Farmer; Peggy Henson, 11th District councilmember; Mary Hunter, homeless representative; Janice James, Hope Center Deputy Director and Recovery Program for Women Director; Laverne Laine, Lexington Housing Authority; Sherry Maddock, East End resident; Randy Moler, Veterans Administration Medical Clinic; Douglas Pape, Division of Police; Don Ralph, former director, Eastern State Hospital; Harry Richart, community volunteer; Kate Savage, community volunteer; Mike Scanlon, community volunteer; Tanya Torp, Community Engagement Coordinator, United Way of the Bluegrass; Brian Varble, Minister of Missions and Recreation, Calvary Baptist Church; Ginny Vicini, Executive Director, New Beginnings Bluegrass, Inc.; Kyle Whalen, community volunteer; and Kathy Witt, Sheriff. Other members may be added, as needed.

- 5. The Chair shall have the authority to call meetings, appoint committees, develop meeting agendas and guide constructive debate in a civil manner towards consensus.
- 6. The Commission shall meet as often as necessary to complete its work and deliver its findings and recommendations to the Mayor and Council no later than January 15, 2013.
- 7. The Commission shall be provided administrative support by the Office of the Mayor and the Department of Social Services. All meetings shall be subject to the Kentucky Open Meetings Act and all documents pertaining to the Commission shall be subject to the Kentucky Open Records Act.

Signed this, the 13th day of July, 2012

Jım Gray Mayor